The Boston Tea Party 2010


Two weeks ago I headed down to The Boston Common to attend one of the official Tea Party protests. I don’t usually get too political on my blog, but I have to say as a small business owner, and even more importantly, as an American, I am tired of what’s going on in our govt. The spending is completely out of control, the policies of this administration are very much out of touch with the general population, and its time to retire a LOT of the incumbents from both parties in the next election.
You can’t spend your way out of debt, and the govt. cannot continue to keep spending at a record pace and expect to bring the deficit down. It’s impossible. you try it with your checkbook. It just doesn’t work.
But I digress. As I started saying, I went into Boston with my sister, and had a great time. Over 5000 people were gathered for this event. It was very patriotic, and peaceful. Of course there were those protesters in the crowd trying to disrupt things, but I don’t begrudge them their free speech, like some of them would begrudge me mine! Got into some interesting debates with the young, know it all college students from some of the elite universities in the area. I find it interesting that one young lady(who I might add, has never worked in the real job, and had to pay taxes) thought it was her right to free education. I believe this is what’s wrong with a large segment of our population. They have their hand out and want everything for free, or want to take it from someone that has more than they do. Our president wants to take from the so called rich, that have worked for their wealth, and give it out in the form of healthcare and other entitlements to those that are here illegally, or have no desire to work. I am far from a wealthy man, I work hard for a living, and I have no problem with someone that has a lot of money. They worked for it, and its theirs, and the govt. should keep their hands off of it, as well as off of my money! We need to go to a flat tax system-10% across the board. Period. And let the govt. learn to live within their means as most of us in the real world have to.
I found it a most enjoyable day, meeting and talking with so many folks from a variety of backgrounds, that were all united by one common theme:smaller govt, and less taxes. I spoke with a black man that has been called all manner of slurs by the left because he is black, and holds to conservative principles. I even enjoyed engaging in conversation and debate with some of the protesters there. Some were very polite, others literally tried picking a fight with some of the tea party members, and one college student insulted one of our war heroes and veterans, and I thought that elder gentleman was going to pummel that punk, but was held back by a few of the other tea party members. I find the lack of respect for the elderly disturbing, and the fact that he thinks so little of our magnificent men and women that serve our great country in the greatest military in the world. That young man doesn’t realize that our military is made up of heroes and have made it possible for people like him to protest, and say whatever they want to.
I thank the Lord for this great country, and our great military. I hope you enjoy a little peek into the Tea Party. You can see more on my Flickr.

About dimattiaphotography

603-540-4828 www.dimattiaphotography.net I love the joy my photography can bring to others. I love creating small works of art. I enjoy the challenge of making something beautiful with my camera. My goal with each photo-shoot whether it is a wedding, a child, a high school senior, or a family, is to make my subjects not only look their best, but to make them feel special, and bring out their personality in their portraits.
This entry was posted in Boston, brothers, child, DiMattia Photography, family, fun, natural light, photography, professional photographer, Uncategorized, woman, young man and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Boston Tea Party 2010

  1. very nice joe…a bit too long to read as a blog:)

    but the photos are great…especially the bw version of the guy signing what looks like a petition?

    • nikonianjoe says:

      thanks Sam. I know I got a bit long winded and rambling! thanks for the B&W suggestion too. I think I like it better. He was actually signing a book he wrote for my sister

Leave a comment