Kathryn and Trevor say I Do!


When Kathryn asked me to document her wedding I just knew she would be one fun, fabulous bride,and she did not disappoint! The days leading up to her wedding were filled with one trial after another, but she never let her circumstances discourage her or get the best of her. Two weeks ago, Kathryn’s dad had a heart attack and had to have surgery, but seeing him this weekend you would never even know it. Then last week, Trevor was driving his car, and the brakes failed while he was going 65 mph, and fortunately he had the presence of mind to keep it in control and was able to safely stop eventually. That also created quite an unexpected expense a week before their wedding. I had Kathryn scheduled to do some bridal portraits this Tues. when I got a call from her maid of honor telling me that she spilled hot wax on her hand and had to go to the emergency room. Unfortunately it was also the hand she would wear her rings on!. She left the hospital with 2nd degree burns and a wrapped hand.  Thru all these trials, she has maintained a very pleasant attitude, one that really shows how strong the foundation of her Christian faith is. When I met the girls at 6:30  in the morning, they told me that the water pump in the house had failed, and everyone had to go off to different locations to shower. We joked that THIS  had to be the last big mishap before the ceremony in a few hours. We were definitely wrong! As I took pictures of the gazebo her uncle had built, and the whole set up of this outdoor location, the clouds were rolling in. This young couple didn’t want to see each other before the wedding, so after the girls got ready, we made our way thru a path in the woods, that would bring us out to the  main road and then about a 1000 foot walk to the gazebo where Kathryn would see her groom for the first time. It began to lightly rain as we walked thru the woods, and by the time we got to the road it was raining a bit harder.

Of course we had no umbrellas, but as it was time for the wedding Kathryn thought we should just start walking towards the gazebo. Of course within a minute or 2 of our walk, the heavens opened and the rains come down in buckets! We huddled under some trees that seemed to shelter us from the rain for the most part, but everyone was definitely getting wet. One of the guests driving by, saw us and we got the bride into the suv, along with the 4 flower girls, and the rest of us made our way back to the house in the deluge! It was the first time I have ever done a wedding completely soaked. The ceremony was moved to underneath the giant tent for the reception, which was down in a valley of sorts, so the wedding party stood in about 3 inches of water the whole time. I must say it was a first, and we did get some laughs out of it, and by the later afternoon it cleared up enough to finally take photos. Up to this time no formals of any kind had really been taken. I did get a good 3 hours in for that though. Definitely another first! Here are a few of my favorite shots from our little adventure. You can see a larger gallery here.

VENDORS:

Caterers: Hart’s Turkey Farm

Flowers:The Lions Garden

Cake: Piperbellies

About dimattiaphotography

603-540-4828 www.dimattiaphotography.net I love the joy my photography can bring to others. I love creating small works of art. I enjoy the challenge of making something beautiful with my camera. My goal with each photo-shoot whether it is a wedding, a child, a high school senior, or a family, is to make my subjects not only look their best, but to make them feel special, and bring out their personality in their portraits.
This entry was posted in 50mm 1.4, beauty, best friends, Bokeh, bride, Concord NH, DiMattia Photography, family, fashion, fun, groom, natural light, NH, portrait, pose, professional photographer, weddings, woman and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Kathryn and Trevor say I Do!

  1. I am totally in love with the shot of her putting on her rainboots…. so in love! 🙂 Great wedding Joe!

  2. Tiffany says:

    Trevor and Kathyrn’s wedding was so fairy tale, I love the pictures, they turned out wonderfully. She was a beautiful bride.

  3. Pingback: Fun visit with some old friends | DiMattia Photography

  4. Diane Hunter says:

    Hi Joe, Great Pictures We have a video of the wedding my son-in-law made what is your address and I’ll send you one. Thanks Diane

  5. Pingback: 2010 in review | DiMattia Photography

Leave a comment