New Orleans Day 1 and 2


I arrived in New Orleans on Monday to attend my very first PartnerCon with Pictage. It is 3 days of workshops with some of the top photographers in the world, and this year it is in New Orleans. I arrived yesterday about 4pm, and it was fairly uneventful except for not being able to check in for a few hours. It seems the Atlanta Falcons were staying at the hotel and didn’t check out til 5pm! Needless to say that left the cleaning crew having to scramble to clean 280 rooms while lots of irate people were waiting in line to check in! I am staying at an amazing hotel the JM Marriot, and they gave me a 50.00 room credit, and brought me up Haagan Daz Ice cream last night and a bottle of Merlot which I sent back as I don’t drink. A few minutes later I was brought up some chocolate too! Today started off with an amazing breakfast consisting of cajun salmon, belgium waffles with fresh strawberries, scrambled eggs, has browns and fresh OJ. delicious. I went to some great workshops today with Scarlett Lillian(one of my favorite wedding photogs), Mike Colon, and Denis Reggie-the father of wedding photojournalism. I then met up with my friend Susan whom I met on the airport shuttle on monday and wandered the streets of New Orleans for about 4 hours. Its an amazing city. We went over to Cafe Du Monde, and then worked our way down Bourbon street where we wandered into a little hole in the wall and heard an amazing Jazz quintet. They were fantastic to say the least. The buildings in New Orleans are very unique and the architecture is really interesting. It’s quite a place to wander around and take photos. Here are a few of my favorites from day 2. Bigger gallery here
0058__DSC21700005__DSC18720012__DSC18940008__DSC18840023__DSC19140038__DSC20480021__DSC19110056__DSC2156

About dimattiaphotography

603-540-4828 www.dimattiaphotography.net I love the joy my photography can bring to others. I love creating small works of art. I enjoy the challenge of making something beautiful with my camera. My goal with each photo-shoot whether it is a wedding, a child, a high school senior, or a family, is to make my subjects not only look their best, but to make them feel special, and bring out their personality in their portraits.
This entry was posted in bass, beauty, best friends, clarinet, Concord NH, DiMattia Photography, drums, fashion, fun, horse, model, musician, natural light, NH, photography, piano, portrait, pose, professional photographer, trumpet, Uncategorized, woman and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to New Orleans Day 1 and 2

  1. Pretty Project says:

    New Orleans is hands down one of my favorite places to vaca. Great pics! 🙂

    http://www.ThePrettyProject.com

  2. SallyK says:

    Great photos! Thanks for sharing… North Coast Muse @ http://sally1029.wordpress.com

  3. kefuoe says:

    I am lucky enough to live in this vibrant and photogenic city, so your kind words were welcomed.

    I actually struggle sometimes with finding new things and ways to shoot the fabulous street culture we have here. Your photos do it justice, for sure.

    One of yours reminded me of this shot of mine: http://www.flickr.com/photos/bigheadedbrownie/3578705888/in/set-72157594320043379/

    I hope you enjoy your stay!

  4. Just saw these… These are AMAZING shots of the city! And fun to see our pic up there too! 🙂

  5. nikonianjoe says:

    thanks Scarlett. had to include that one as it was part of the whole experience!

Leave a Reply

